Learning to speak Aussie: Australian Slang Dictionary

Gday-mate-III1-300x107

I met Hubby in Australia. I’d been here once before I actually moved Downunder after we got married. I thought, “No biggie, they speak English, I’ve lived there for a few months before- I got this!”

Heck no I didn’t!

Australian Women

First problem was the fact that when I did live in Australia, I lived in Sydney. No offense to my Sydney homies, but it ain’t the bush. It’s a beautiful city full of culture, but it does it no part whatsoever show the real Australia.

Since we lived in the country part of NSW I their learnt I was in for much more than I had bargained for. If I only knew! They really do speak their own language, especially ‘Bogans.’ So for all you people who are interested or who hope to travel down here one day I shall help you not get left in the dust!

AussieGentleman

But even if you do, don’t worry, I still use my own language…mostly to just annoy people. They always love to correct me, but I just say it my way over and over instead 😉

Australian Terminology (These are just the ones you’d use on a daily basis pretty much…)

Lemonade = Sprite (lemon lime soda)
Lemon Squash = A carbonated lemonade
Esky = Ice chest
Car Park = Parking lot
Tomato Sauce = Ketchup (and they say tah-mato not toe-mato, but they still say Po-tato….weirdos)
Service station or “Servo” = Gas station
Gas (for the car) = Petrol
Bottleshop or “Bottle-O” = Liquor store
Trolley = Cart
Pram = Stroller
Rubbish = Trash
Rubbish bin = Trash can
Toilet/Dunny/Loo = Bathroom
Arvo = Afternoon
Fortnightly = Bi-weekly
Bikkie/Bisquit = Cookie
Cuppa = Cup of tea
Brekkie = Breakfast
Morning tea/Afternoon tea = Morning or afternoon snack
Tea = Dinner/Supper
Chook = Chicken
Chrissy = Christmas
Fairy Floss = Cotton Candy
Pluto Pop = Corn Dog
Feral = Naughty
Lollies = Candy
Maccas = McDonald’s
Mozzie = Mosquito
Pash = A long passionate kiss
Prawn = Shrimp
Schooner = A size of beer
Snag = Sausage
Stubby = A bottle with alcohol
Stubby Holder = an insulated bottle holder
Sunnies = Sunglasses
Trackies = Track pants
Uni = University
Ute = Truck
Whinge = Complain

You memorize them all yet? 😉

Leave a Reply

Feitelogram

"All the Stuff That's Fit to Feitel."

inspirationenergy

be inspired to greatness

Sightings and bits of adventure

(places and thoughts and experiences of this created)

Besos from Australia!

"She is clothed with strength & dignity and laughs without fear of the future." - Proverbs 31:25

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

Mo Isom

Journeying From Broken to Bold

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

Mommy Adventures

An American mom in Australia blogs about things and stuff

Nathan Frick

Non-expert life commentary.

Caffeine and Mascara...

A military spouse, mommy to two boys and a entrepreneur - all I need is caffeine and mascara to manage this world.

Jeff's Sporting Thoughts

Speaking the Mind from my view!

