Roebourne Gaol

Can you believe I forgot to take my camera with me today?

I did. 

Which means, I just have to go back and be a tourista again to get lots more photos. I took some on the phone, but the iphone 3GS (I’m old school like that) does not take the greatest photos. I ‘Instagramed’ some to make them look prettier, but meh.

Image
At the Roebourne Gaol they chained Aboriginal prisoners for mostly killing cattle & stealing. The better English they spoke & lighter skin they were, the better they were treated & less likely to be chained.

Today FIL (Father-in-Law) and I drove out to the Roebourne Visitor Center which is set up in the old gaol (jail). I love that sort of thing, anything historical and nerdy gets me curious. So while hubby went to work, FIL and I drove the 40 minutes to Roeboure.

It was great! I want to do a full post on it with appropriate photos to go with, so I’ll hold off on going into too much detail until then.

As you head out of Roebourne the turn off for Cossak, Samson’s Point and Wickam are off the main road, so we decided to check out Cossak. Cossak is a deserted town that used to be the main port the ships came in for the mines long ago and now it’s a ghost town that they have restored. I thought we were just going to see the buildings, I had no idea they were going to have a lookout and a gorgeous beach!

Image
Love living on the West Coast ♥ just wish the beach down the street looked like this!

We’ll have to go back and visit the visitor’s center and get a guide because it had posts all throughout the town that explained why it was historic and what each building was used for. We walked around a cemetery where most of the people had died in the late 1800’s and it was divided by race, in this case, Australian and Japanese. The Japanese did the “pearling” in Australia. As hubby said, they dropped them down in into the ocean in those old fashion cartoon looking scuba suits to pick up the clams holding the pearls.

The whole cemetery was built on the sand, which made it a bit awkward to walk across. Especially after seeing a sign saying the a dozen people were also laid to rest the cemetery, but their graves had sunk…Hmmm.

Image
My new hangout. I’m in love!

We drove up to a look out and I was stunned by the view! An actual beach was below. It was beautiful. I was in love.

We drove down the hill to the beach and walked around for the bit and I touched the Indian Ocean for the first time. I’ve seen the ocean here for the past month and half, but I have yet to walk up to it and touch it.

Image

It felt refreshing! It was cool, and not too cold. It must have been really shallow because there were people about a quarter mile out and they were only in waist deep. Notice how you can see my feet through the water? You don’t get that in So Cal!

I tried to write in the sand but it was a crap attempt. It looked disgraceful. Lol

Now, I just need to go back and do it all over again, so I can properly write about and show you around.

One comment

  1. Remember your Greatgrandpa worked in the mines in Arizona , I believe he mined for silver and the town he worked in is now a ghost town. He also came down sick with a case of tuberculosis and had to be quarantined two times. His adult son , your grandpa and us kids had to be given a tb test to make sure we didn’t have tb. FYI

Leave a Reply

Feitelogram

"All the Stuff That's Fit to Feitel."

inspirationenergy

be inspired to greatness

Sightings and bits of adventure

(places and thoughts and experiences of this created)

Besos from Australia!

"She is clothed with strength & dignity and laughs without fear of the future." - Proverbs 31:25

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

Mo Isom

Journeying From Broken to Bold

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

Mommy Adventures

An American mom in Australia blogs about things and stuff

Nathan Frick

Non-expert life commentary.

Caffeine and Mascara...

A military spouse, mommy to two boys and a entrepreneur - all I need is caffeine and mascara to manage this world.

Jeff's Sporting Thoughts

Speaking the Mind from my view!

