Accommodation Day 1: Lakeview Caravan Park, Broken Hill, NSW

Our first night of the road trip, we drove about 11 hours and were happy to finally spend some time out of the car. I noticed that Broken Hill has heaps of places to stay overnight. What most Americans don’t know, and something I never understood until I spent time here in Australia is that pubs are usually the place you stay when you’re on a road trip. I also learned early on that pubs are your restaurants as well. More on that later, but Broken Hill had heaps of pub accommodations and motels off the side of the road. And can I be quite honest? All of it looked really run down and dingy. Like the whole town.

The whole town looks like it was painted, new grass put in, cleaned and all….34 years ago.

Anywho, I got a bit of anxiety as we drove looking for the caravan park multiple friends had told us to stay in. (Other note to foreigners: Caravan parks are the other main option of staying locally outside of main cities. No ladies and gentlemen, no ever so handy Holiday Inns…) Nate got a bit annoyed with me as we were driving around and as much as I tried to bite my tongue, the chances of staying at a clean place seriously worried me and I started to lose faith that I was entirely in over my middle class American head on this road trip.

One thing I love about our relationship is that no matter what we may disagree or get annoyed about at the time, we always talk about it soon after to try and understand each others side. Later on after we were both showered, fed and much calmer, Nate realized, I’ve never stayed in any such a place as we were.

I knew on this trip I’d be in for things I wasn’t used too. Is Australia still a first world country? Yes. Is America similar in a lot of way? Yes. Do we both speak English? Well, Kinda. Are the two countries different in a lot of ways? Gosh yes. In more ways than you’ll ever realize until you live here. I don’t think Aussies have as hard as a time assimilating to America because everyone watches American TV and movies here. Even though they may not speak it, they still know know American Slang. Our idea of Australia came from the 2000 Olympics, Steve Irwin & shrimp on the barbie (which they call “prawns”). We haven’t been conditioned to their culture, so it really is a shock when you’re not inside the bigger cities.

Broken Hill was no different. Friends of ours told us to try the Lakeview Caravan Park, so we did. And to be perfectly honest for my first time staying at such a place, I was pleasantly surprised! Absolutely nothing fancy, and literally it’s a caravan park with different nightly accommodation options. Everything from camping in your own tent, hooking up your RV, staying in a little trailer and using shared bathrooms to little cabins with their own private bathroom with 1-3+ bedrooms. We got the standard ensuite cabin. There was nothing modern about it, but it was clean and I appreciated that so much in the moment.

I’m used to hotels. Not 5 star hotels, but at least 3-4 stars for the most part. Pretty much growing up we would stay at AAA rated hotels whenever we traveled across the states, so the idea of staying at a caravan park, or a pub is really strange to me. At the end of the day, for the last 9 months I have opened my mind and have had to constantly remind myself that I generally won’t find the same things I find at home and am used too. It’s okay that it’s different. Do I sometimes still freak out a bit out of fear of being eaten by a giant spider and  crocs climbing through my bed? Totally. But I have to say, as long as it’s clean I am perfectly okay with it.

The Lakeview Caravan Park was very clean and homey. It had a little bedroom with mismatch furniture and a queen bed off the living space. All the towels, bedding, curtains, etc. were all mismatched as well. When you first walked in there was a little couch in the corner, with a dining table pushed up against it with four chairs. It had a refrigerator, microwave with two hot plates on it, and a sink on the opposite wall. Plenty of counter and shelf space. The TV was above the counter. It definitely was interesting positioning of everything, but really we could care less. The bathroom was next to the kitchen, and I was super happy that it was really clean! Some hotels I have stayed at didn’t even have that clean of bathrooms.

I meant to take photos, but yeah… I forgot. Lol.

As for a review of the place, we would definitely stay there again if we ever passed through. It was quiet and it was convenient. It was easy access right off the main road and most importantly it was clean!

We give this place 3 1/2 wild goats out of 5 wild goats.

(We love our wild goats)

Leave a Reply

Feitelogram

"All the Stuff That's Fit to Feitel."

inspirationenergy

be inspired to greatness

Sightings and bits of adventure

(places and thoughts and experiences of this created)

Besos from Australia!

"She is clothed with strength & dignity and laughs without fear of the future." - Proverbs 31:25

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

Mo Isom

Journeying From Broken to Bold

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

Mommy Adventures

An American mom in Australia blogs about things and stuff

Nathan Frick

Non-expert life commentary.

Caffeine and Mascara...

A military spouse, mommy to two boys and a entrepreneur - all I need is caffeine and mascara to manage this world.

Jeff's Sporting Thoughts

Speaking the Mind from my view!

